Star Trek (DS9): Valiant

This forum is for discussing Chuck's videos as they are publicly released. And for bashing Neelix, but that's just repeating what I already said.
Tonesthegeek
Redshirt

Star Trek (DS9): Valiant

Post by Tonesthegeek »

So Having watched this episode again, for reasons that escape me entirely, a few questions came to mind.
Nog is an academy graduate, a commissioned Starfleet officer, and a combat veteran. Waters was still a cadet who'd been given a battlefield commission. the question is, how absolute was water's authority? Sure he had the loyalty of his crew and they'd follow him without question, but wouldn't Nog have technically outranked or at the very least stood at equal rank with him enough to be in a position to speak up and perhaps prevent Water's from dooming his ship and crew?

I'm not really an expert on the rules governing the commissioning of officers, but I seriously doubt if Waters brought the Valiant back to the federation or if they encountered Sisko and the Defiant, that his battlefield commission would be considered permanent (Nog's increased rank wasn't after this episode). At the very least he'd get a commendation for saving his crew and probably be made a full Ensign.