The Cassini Space Probe

This is for topical issues effecting our fair world... you can quit snickering anytime. Note: It is the desire of the leadership of SFDebris Conglomerate that all posters maintain a civil and polite bearing in this forum, regardless of how you feel about any particular issue. Violators will be turned over to Captain Janeway for experimentation.
phantom000
Captain

The Cassini Space Probe

Post by phantom000 »

I heard about this on NPR and i immediately wanted to share it.

https://www.upi.com/Science_News/2017/0 ... 505402246/

Cassini was planned as a follow up to the very successful Voyager missions. I am not an expert but it seems likely that there will not be another major mission to Saturn for some time.
Admiral X
Captain

Re: The Cassini Space Probe

Post by Admiral X »

Well, unless of course we were to spot something on one of its moons. ;)

youtu.be/3escvQEziag
"Black care rarely sits behind a rider whose pace is fast enough."
-TR
The Romulan Republic
Captain

Post by The Romulan Republic »

I remember when Cassini was launched, their was protesting against it because it was nuclear-powered. Back then, I was a stupid kid who thought nuclear-powered space craft were a bad idea. I know better now.

Pity we won't be following it up any time soon. I just find the state of our space program pitiful. We should have had a Mars base thirty years ago, and been sending men to Saturn and launching star probes now.
nebagram
Officer

Post by nebagram »

Cassini had a hell of a run, though. I remember staying up one night to watch the first results and images come in from the Huygens probe, and now that I look back at it, I realise that was thirteen years ago. If anything, we need to send another lander to Titan or Enceladus before sending another orbiter to Saturn.
Robovski
Captain

Post by Robovski »