Star Trek Online

For all topics regarding speculative fiction of every stripe. Otherwise known as the Geek Cave.
BunBun299
Officer

Star Trek Online

Post by BunBun299 »

I figure we must have a few people around here who play this game, so I figured I'd start a thread about it.

I started playing STO back in September of 2016 when it came to Xbox One. And i fell in love quite quickly. It filled a long standing craving of mine for a good Star Trek game. There's an obvious love for the source material on display. They really seem commited to doing things with plot points the show raised and had no idea what to do with. The space combat is excellent, though the ground combat is merely serviceable. Feel like something from a couple generations ago. Still, it feels like Trek where the guns work.
FaxModem1
Captain

Re: Star Trek Online

Post by FaxModem1 »

I rather like it. I play it daily. I'm one of those odd people who actually made a backstory for all of my characters.
BunBun299
Officer

Post by BunBun299 »

FaxModem1 wrote:I rather like it. I play it daily. I'm one of those odd people who actually made a backstory for all of my characters.
I did so for most of mine. Kinda bare bones in most cases. For my main, I made up backstories for my Captain and her three primary sidekicks, a human science officer, borg engineer and android tactical officer. One detail about them is that their equivalent of the poker games is they get together after hours for table top RPGs. The android usually acting at the GM, since she can do voices perfectly.
Eishtmo
Officer

Post by Eishtmo »

I've been playing the PC version since right before it went Free To Play (like a week, some free Alienware thingy).